Farasha Pharis, III Year B.A. Economics

Ever catch yourself watching a show and thinking, “She’s such a Monica”? Or maybe, “Ross would’ve laughed at that.”? Well you’re not alone! Anyone who’s ever watched FRIENDS will tell you that there’s no show quite like it but the truth is, there are millions. Okay, maybe not millions, but you know what I mean. If it’s a show about a group of friends (see what I did there?), in their late 20s to early 30s, set in fast paced city dealing with the ups and downs of life in a comical but still sophisticated way, there’s a high chance you’ve compared it to FRIENDS (the actual one).

Maybe it’s because FRIENDS was a turning point in the sitcom world, where it moved equally far from the family-oriented, children-friendly show and the not-for-prime-time-television shows and created an alternate which late teens and adults enjoyed equally.

Do you know what I love about the show? It’s the only show I’ve watched over and over without getting bored of the humour or their storyline. It’s quite truly like that old friend who tells you the same story all the time without realising it and you listen not because you have to, but because you want to.

I often find myself quoting the show in casual conversation and unintentionally (kidding, very intentionally) judging those who don’t get it. It’s quite a breath-taking thought that the show began airing 2 years before I was born and yet I don’t watch it like the other shows before my time, saying things like, “I don’t get it.” Maybe it’s because my first memory of the show was my mother and aunt watching it on the television once a week in the pre-recording days when you had to actually wait by the television for shows at particular times. Oh, the audacity!

Maybe it’s stayed with me and everyone who’s ever seen it so long because we’ve all told ourselves the same things they’ve told each other. It’ll get better. Every season finale is an opportunity to watch the old ones again and every hilarious anecdote gets us one step closer to being a one of them.

Maybe it’s comfortable because they’ll always be there for us and we’ll be there for them too. Jokes aside, that show is my lobster and I will never say “we were on a break” to it.

